About Us

Who We Are


In response to the expansion of oil and gas production in the region, the Lakeland Industry and Community Association (LICA) was formed in October 2000. LICA, a community-based not-for-profit association registered under the Alberta Societies Act, has evolved to become a Synergy Group, Watershed Planning and Advisory Council (WPAC) for the Beaver River Watershed, and an Airshed Zone.



A Synergy Group

The mission of Synergy Groups throughout Alberta is to foster mutually satisfactory outcomes in communities by providing information, mutual learning, communication, skills development, facilitation, and resources. Synergy Groups connect people and organizations; all voices are heard at the same table.

An Airshed Zone

An Airshed’s role is primarily to monitor air quality. Guided by the Air Monitoring Directive, Airsheds implement stakeholder-tailored air monitoring programs to meet regional data and information needs. Monitoring efforts undertaken by Airsheds include direct measurement of air quality parameters and air effects on the environment (e.g., lake and soil acidification, precipitation chemistry, and forest health). Airsheds provide data that allow for the assessment of the state of air quality and trends, as well as for community monitoring needs including the Air Quality Health Index (AQHI). LICA is one of ten Airsheds within the Province of Alberta.

A Watershed Planning and Advisory Council (WPAC)

A WPAC’s role is to achieve a balance between ecological values and a sustainable economy that contributes to a healthy overall community. Designed to support Alberta’s Water for Life Strategy, WPACs work in partnership with the Government of Alberta to achieve the three key goals:

  1. Safe, secure drinking water
  2. Healthy aquatic ecosystems
  3. Reliable, quality water supplies for a sustainable economy

LICA is one of eleven WPACs within the Province of Alberta, responsible for the Beaver River Watershed.



LICA recognizes that our operational boundary falls within the traditional lands of the Denesųłiné (Dene), Nehiyaw (Cree), and Métis Nations. LICA respects and holds gratitude towards sharing the land and honors our responsibility to truth and reconciliation as members of Treaty 6, 8, and 10 and Otipemisiwak Métis Government Districts 12, 19, and 20.