Our Board & Committees

Meet Our Board of Directors!

LICA is governed by a multi-stakeholder Board of Directors, designed to ensure equitable representation for all stakeholders in matters pertaining to environmental matters and initiatives. Composed of 18 representatives, the LICA Board of Directors currently represents 11 various sectors:

  • Community*
  • First Nations
  • Métis
  • Agriculture*
  • Oil & Gas
  • Forestry/Trapping*
  • Alberta Government
  • Municipal Government
  • Alberta Energy Regulator
  • Alberta Health Services
  • Environmental Non-Government Organizations*

*These Board of Director seats are elected at LICA’s Annual General Meeting held in October.

LICA’s 2024-2025 Board of Directors

Back Row (from left to right)
Murray Phillips, Jason Stelmaschuk, Colin Cote, Leo Paquin, Phil Kushnir

Front Row (from left to right)
Kristen Berezanski, Amanda Avery Bibo, Alyssa Krawchuk, Bernie Poitras, Louise White,     Robert Machatis

Missing –  Vic Toutant, Wayne Bamber, Shawn Elgert, Xiaofeng Wang, Annette Hobart,    Abdi Siad-Omar, Lorne Halisky

Want to know more?

For more information on how you may become involved, click the buttons below.

Our Committees

LICA has four appointed standing committees to provide guidance and support to LICA Staff and Board of Directors in the administration and operations of LICA’s Strategic Plan and Annual Work Plans. LICA committees embrace a multi-stakeholder approach and report directly to the Board of Directors.


Under the leadership of the Education and Outreach Coordinator, the Education and Outreach Committee is designed to assist in the planning, coordination, and facilitation of educational opportunities, outreach activities, and special events for the community. Additionally, this standing committee is structured to support the development and dissemination of educational materials and informational resources.


Under the leadership of the Executive Director, the Governance Committee is designed to spearhead the review of LICA bylaws and policies, as well as drive the development of new policies.


Under the leadership of the Environmental Coordinator, the LICA Watershed Committee is designed to support watershed management planning and projects including the implementation of the Beaver River Integrated Watershed Management Plan.


Under the leadership of the Manager of Environmental Monitoring Programs, the Acid Deposition Monitoring Program Expansion Committee (ADMPEC) is designed to support LICA in the development and oversight of the expansion of LICA’s Acid Deposition Monitoring Program. In 2022-23, the ADMPEC developed an Acid Deposition Monitoring Plan (the Plan) to meet the needs of new regional regulatory compliance acid deposition monitoring and reporting requirements. The ADMPEC is currently working on addressing the implementation of the Plan.

Interested in becoming a LICA member?

Sign up for a FREE membership today!